CIPR International launches 2016 Douglas Smith Student award

The Douglas Smith award is an opportunity for smart students in public relations to get ahead.

The CIPR’s International group has announced the annual Douglas Smith Student Award.

The aim of the award is to help students studying on CIPR degrees courses to develop an international public relations campaign.

2016 challenge: sharing economy

This year’s topic is the sharing economy. It describes a socio-economic ecosystem built around the sharing of human and physical resources. High profile examples of sharing platforms include Airbnb, eBay, and Uber.

The sharing economy includes the shared creation, production, distribution, trade and consumption of goods and services by different people and organisations. It allows people to swap, exchange, buy, create, consume and own together.

Whilst the sharing economy is fast gaining ground, as evidenced through a series of services and start-ups which enable peer-to-peer exchanges through technology, this is only the beginning.

It’s a new and potentially alternative socio-economic system which embeds sharing and collaboration at its heart – across all aspects of social and economic life.

Students are challenged to develop an international public relations campaign for a fictitious company wishing to promote car-sharing in the major capitals around the world. Alternatively, they can develop a campaign for a special interest group arguing against ride sharing.

Previous winners

Now in its third year, the competition is the brainchild of hardworking CIPR volunteers Eva Maclaine and Pamela Mounter.

Entries are invited from individuals and teams. The winning team last year from Sunderland University included Lauren Old, Hannah Lennox and Arianne Williams.

Lauren and Hannah, now in their final year, subsequently contributed to my second #PRstack book.

“Douglas Smith was a founder and patron of CIPR International, and supported young talent. This is our way of celebrating his memory,” said Eva Maclaine, chair of CIPR International.

The winning individual or team will receive £1,000 and a crystal trophy. The closing date for the award is 18 April 2016.

Thanks for stopping by. If you enjoyed this blog post you may like to receive future posts as they are published, via email. Please sign-up here.

Stephen Waddington

Partner and Chief Engagement Officer, Ketchum and Visiting Professor in Practice, Newcastle University.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *